Forwarding, Freight News

BIFA nets basketball star for Freight Service Awards

[ September 12, 2019   //   ]

Paralympian and broadcaster Ade Adepitan is to host BIFA’s Freight Service Awards competition next year.

The awards are open to all members of the trade association, and are sponsored by a number of blue chip companies. The awards ceremony luncheon is an annual event on the industry calendar and, as before, will take place at The Brewery in London on Thursday 16 January next year when Ade Adepitan will host more than 500 BIFA members and their guests. Once again, it will provide a valuable opportunity for attendees to acknowledge the winners as well as networking with people from within the industry.

BIFA director general, Robert Keen said: “Ade gained a bronze medal in the Athens Paralympics, as well as a silver medal in the European Championships. Entrants to our awards will be aiming to achieve something similar to his ultimate accolade of a world championship gold medal, with a BIFA freight service trophy of their own.

“Overcoming challenges to achieve success characterise all of the companies that win a BIFA freight service award. Ade Adepitan is great example of someone that has responded to the challenges of childhood polio to develop a very successful career as an international wheelchair basketball player and a reputation as one of the UK’s most popular broadcasters.”

Keen adds: “Every year, after the awards have taken place, I get members who say that they wish they had entered. So, with just a few weeks left until the 8 October entry deadline, now is not the time to take a time out. I would urge all members to think about their applications now, so they don’t have any regrets later.”

The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows

General categories

Project Forwarding Award – sponsored by Peter Lole Insurance Brokers

Specialist Services Award – sponsored by Forward Computers

Staff Development Award – sponsored by Albacore

Supply Chain Management Award– sponsored by BoxTop Technologies

Modal categories

Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo

European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club

Ocean Services Award – sponsored by Port Express

Specialist categories

Cool Award– sponsored by American Airlines Cargo

Extra Mile Award– sponsored by Descartes

Individual categories

Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Award – sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo

Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by Seetec Outsource

Further information relating to entries and luncheon reservations can be obtained by visiting the BIFA website