Freight News, Air

EU updates banned airline list

[ April 11, 2014   //   ]

The European Union took airlines from Swaziland off the list of those banned from operating in the EU on 10 April, together with the Philippines’ Cebu Pacific Air and the restrictions on the number of flights by Air Astana of Kazakhstan has been lifted. All other airlines from Kazakhstan remain banned, however.

Bans also remain in force for all airlines from Afghanistan, Angola, Benin, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Mozambique, Nepal, Sierra Leone, Sao Tomé and Príncipe, Sudan and Zambia. All airlines except three from Gabon and all from Indonesia with five exceptions are also prohibited. Individual airline bans remaoin in force for Blue Wing Airlines of Suriname and Meridian Airways from Ghana.
Ten airlines subject to operating restrictions in the EU: Air Astana from Kazakhstan, Afrijet, Gabon Airlines, and SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (North Korea), Airlift International (Ghana), Air Service Comores (Comoros), Iran Air, TAAG Angolan Airlines and Air Madagascar.