Freight News

Everywoman finalists announced

[ April 14, 2014   //   ]

Finalists for the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards have been announced.

There are 25 nominees for the awards, which were founded to raise awareness of the opportunities offered by the industry and to show the variety of fulfilling careers available.

Co-founder of Everywoman, Maxine Bensonsaid: “We congratulate this year’s finalists who have demonstrated that their gender is no barrier to success and that opportunity exists at every level of the career ladder.”

FTA chief executive, Theo de Pencier, added: “We are pleased to encourage forward thinking companies that are committed to introducing diversity to the freight industry, and working further with everywoman offers FTA opportunities to expand that work. The key for our industry is to be able to access a wider talent pool to be able to meet its need for good quality staff in whichever role it needs to fill.”

The winners will be announced at the Savoy in London on 13 May. For further information and tickets see:


Director of the Year – sponsored by Asda Stores

Marie Boyer, Managing Director, France Line Transport International , from Manchester

Sarah Copley, Commercial Director, National Express, from Birmingham

Kate Lester, CEO and Founder, Diamond Logistics, from Guildford

Anna Whitty, CEO, ECT Charity, from London

Driver of the Year Award – sponsored by TNT Express

Rachel Garlick, HGV Driver, DHL Homebase, from Wellingborough

Christine Saunders, PUD Driver/ Driver Assessor, TNT Express UK , from Kidderminster

Jenny Tipping, C+E Driver at Manpower Logistics, Royal Mail, from Bournemouth


Innovation and Sustainability Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain

Karen Jacques, Chief Operating Officer, Dryad Maritime, from Portsmouth

Corinne Murphy, National Fleet Manager, Asda Logistics Services, from Leeds

Astrid van der Burgt, National Road Risk Manager, Kuehne + Nagel , from Draycott in the Clay, Derbyshire


Rising Star Award – sponsored by Wincanton

Megan Bowne, Fleet Planning Engineer, Southeastern Railway, from Lenham, Maidstone

Maryam Cassidy, Continuous Improvement Manager, Asda Logistics Services, from Liverpool

Kat Horsley, Operations Director, Easy as HGV, from Guildford

Anna Kozlowska CMILT Managing Director, Myway Enterprises, from Lutterworth


Team Leader of the Year

Caroline Capone, Transport Manager, Kuehne + Nagel, from Milton Keynes

Tracey Clifford, General Manager, Wincanton, from Stoke on Trent

Simone Fogg, General Manager, Sainsbury’s Supermarkets , from London

Julia Wraithmell, District Maintenance Manager East, Northern Rail, from Leeds


Warehousing Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain

Jane Curl-Carter, Site Manager, DHL Tradeteam , from Burton on Trent

Laura Edwards, General Manager, Wincanton, from Greenford, London

Amy Goddard, Department Manager, ADC Lutterworth Asda, from Daventry, Northamptonshire

Claire Morrissy, Deputy Distribution Centre Manager, Tesco PLC, from Dagenham, London


Industry Champion Award

Sharon Davies, Senior Director,Corporate Affairs, DHL UK & Ireland, from London

Tracy McDermott, Senior HR Manager, ALSTOM Transport, from Manchester

Sue McGeorge, Supply Chain Director, Diageo Plc, from London



Tags: ,