Business, Feature, Forwarding, Freight News

It’s a slam-dunk for BIFA award-winners

[ January 17, 2020   //   ]

Basketball star and broadcaster Ade Adepitan revealed the winners of the British International Freight Association’s Freight Service Awards 2019 on 16 January.

The winners of the eight General, Modal, and Specialist categories in the Awards, which has established a benchmark of quality for the British freight forwarding industry for more than a quarter of the century, were: Brunel Air Cargo Services, Core Management Logistics Ltd, Davies Turner, Morgan Cargo, Noatum Logistics, Spatial Global, Westbound Logistics and Zencargo.

In the Individual categories, the winner of the Young Freight Forwarder Award is Jenna Morgan of Wallis Shipping. In the Apprentice of the Year category, which was first introduced in the 2018 awards, the judges declared Thomas Frost of Geodis Freight Forwarding and Jack Reddington of Hemisphere Freight Services as joint winners.

Host Ade Adepitan delivered a motivating speech about how he overcame challenges in not just becoming a Paralympics but in dealing with the pressures of growing up with the effects of polio in London’s East End.

BIFA president Sir Peter Bottomley welcomed guests to the luncheon ceremony, which was attended by almost 550 people, and – along with Adepitan – presented all the finalists with their certificates.

BIFA director general Robert Keen added: “After 30 years, the BIFA Freight Service awards have established a reputation as the Oscars of the UK freight and logistics industry. Whilst the awards are all about rewarding excellence, the luncheon once again proved to be an excellent opportunity for members and guests to network, cement existing relationships, and develop new ones.

“Having achieved success in the Athens Paralympics, the European Championships, Ade’s sporting career culminated in a world championship gold medal. His drive is an example for all the companies that enter the BIFA  awards, as they seek reward for endeavour and professionalism, whilst being able to demonstrate high standards, determination and professionalism.”










The finalists and winners in the ten categories were as follows:

General categories

The Project Forwarding Award – sponsored by Peter Lole Insurance Brokers

Winner – Spatial Global

Finalists – Moto Freight, OIA Global, Pentagon Freight

The Specialist Services Award – sponsored by Forward Computers

Winner: Morgan Cargo

Finalists – Asap Cargo, Regional Express, Tigers Global Logistics

The Staff Development Award – sponsored by Albacore Systems

Winner: Core Management Logistics

Finalists – Dachser, Morrison Freight, Unsworth

The Supply Chain Management Award – sponsored by BoxTop Technologies

Winner: Zencargo

Finalists – B&H Worldwide, Davies Turner, Unsworth

Individual categories

The Young Freight Forwarder Award – sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo

Winner: Jenna Morgan – Wallis Shipping

Finalists – Jamie Abbott – Morrison Freight; Sophie Rye – Kerry Logistics; and, Mitchell West – DB Schenker

The Apprentice of the Year Award – sponsored by Seetec Outsource

Joint Winners: Thomas Frost – Geodis Freight Forwarding, and Jack Reddington – Hemisphere Freight Services

Finalists – Holly Herron – Dachser; and, Sarah Griffiths – DPD Group

Modal categories

The Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo.

Winner: Noatum Logistics

Finalists – Charles Kendall Freight, Dimerco Express, Evolution Forwarding, Metro Shipping

European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club

Winner – Davies Turner

Finalists – Nextday Freight, Noatum Logistics, Simpex Express

The Ocean Services Award – sponsored by Port Express

Winner: Westbound Logistics

Finalists – Spatial Global, Ucargo, Unsworth

The Extra Mile Award – sponsored by Descartes.

Winner: Brunel Air Cargo Services

Finalists – Hemisphere Freight Services, Jordon, Ligentia

Keen concluded with a thank you to all the award category sponsors, as well as the following organisations for their support of the BIFA Freight Service Awards.

American Airlines Cargo – Event sponsor

CNS – sponsor of the multimedia presentation

MCP plc – sponsor of the finalists’ certificates

Menzies – sponsor of the AV relay monitors

Simpex Express – sponsor of the ceremony tickets

Wisetech Global – sponsor of the ceremony programme

Woodland Group – sponsor of the winners’ trophies

Agency Sector Management (ASM) – Host Sponsor, Ade Adepitan.