Feature, Sea

New chair and deputy for Port of Tyne

[ September 29, 2014   //   ]

Port of Tyne has appointed Hilary Florek as chairman of the board and Dr Jon Hargreaves as deputy chairman. The appointments follow the death of former chairman, Sir Les Elton, in July this year.

Hilary Florek is a strategic communications and marketing specialist with extensive experience in both the public and private sectors. She was appointed deputy chairman of the Port of Tyne after six years as a non-executive director.

Dr Jon Hargreaves was appointed a non-executive director to the Port of Tyne Board in 2010 and is a former CEO of East of Scotland Water, MD of Northumbrian Water, MD of Entec Europe Ltd, non-executive director of British Waterways and chairman of British Waterways Scotland. He was the CEO of Scottish Water from 2002 to 2007.


(Left to right: CEO Andrew Moffat, Hilary Florek and Dr Jon Hargreaves)