Business, Freight News, Logistics, People

Time to choose top freighting females

[ August 30, 2013   //   ]

Women in Logistics (UK) Annual Awards shortlist announced.

Women in Logistics UK  has announced the shortlist for its annual awards. The winners, selected by public vote, will be announced at the Women in Logistics Charity Ball and Awards dinner on 20 September. The Company of the Year award 2013 sponsored by The Forton Group, is awarded to a company in the UK logistics sector who has most impressed the judges over their commitment to the recruitment and development of women. Shortlisted companies are Premier Farnell, Royal Mail Group and Unipart Logistics

The shortlisted companies for the SME of the Year Award 2013 sponsored by Pepsico are BiS Henderson, Franceline and LoveFreight.

Women in Logistics vice chair, Clare Bottle said the shortlisted companies and individuals “have shown real thought leadership on gender equality, and had a clear vision for the future.”

The individual categories have been judged by Professor Richard Wilding of Cranfield University who said: “There were so many excellent candidates to the Woman of the Year award, we took the decision to have six woman on our shortlist, rather than the four we had planned. So we’re encouraging as many people as possible to visit the voting site to see what the outstanding women in our sector have achieved,” continued Clare.

Woman of the Year sponsored by Search Consultancy, and Young Woman of the Year sponsored by Manpower are both looking for ambitious and high-performing individual making a remarkable contribution and who champion the achievements of women in the logistics sector.

The shortlists for these two categories are:

Young Woman of the Year

Katie Cox – Royal Mail
Lyndsay Duff – DHD
Rebecca Smith – Norbert Dentressangle
Jennifer F Strachan – Muller Wiseman Dairies

Woman of the Year – Shortlist

Marie Boyer – Franceline
Rebecca Davies – AKW
Anna Gray – Royal Mail
Danielle Kozlowska – Tesco
Wendy Manning – Coca Cola
Pat Smedley – Business on the Move

All the winners will be selected by a public vote at: