Business, Freight News

UK to join Trans-Pacific trade group?

[ January 3, 2018   //   ]

The UK government has held informal talks on joining the Trans Pacific Partnership, according to a report in the Financial Times. The 11-member partnership currently consists of Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam, after the Trump administration left the grouping in 2017.

Although all original members border either the Pacific or South China Sea, Trade minister Greg Hands was reported as saying that there was no geographical restriction on Britain joining.

Tags: ,