Feature, Logistics

Winning women revealed

[ June 30, 2014   //   ]

The winners of the Women in Logistics award were revealed at a ceremony in Warwickshire on 27 June by judges Professor Richard Wilding and Ruth Waring, and in the company of special guest Mrs Beverley Bell, the UK’s first female Traffic Commissioner.

Leader of the Year: Nicky McGroarty of Telefonica UK.

Rising Star of the Year: Victoria Burrows of Royal Mail

Diversity Champion of the Year: Tracey Clifford of Wincanton.

Company of the Year: DHL Supply Chain.

On receiving her award, Nicky McGroarty said: “Telefonica is committed to equality and diversity in the workplace so it’s an honour to receive this recognition for my role as Head of Supply Chain.  I continue to encourage other women in the logistics sector to be ambitious because the career opportunities for both women and men are fantastic.

“I hope my story can inspire others to move into logistics; supply chain is integral to any organisation as it’s all about delivering a great customer experience which is so important.”

Meanwhile, BIFA said that its annual Freight Service Awards now open for entries –