Business, Freight News, People

Women in Logistics shortlist revealed

[ May 23, 2014   //   ]

The nine individuals and two companies in the running for awards at the Women in Logistics annual conference and awards have been unveiled.

The winners will be revealed at a ceremony in Warwickshire on the evening of Friday June 27, in the company of the judges Professor Richard Wilding and Ruth Waring, and special guest Mrs Beverley Bell, the UK’s first female traffic commissioner.

Awards founder Ruth Waring said: “We established Women in Logistics to increase the number of women in the sector, improve life for those women already working in logistics and to address the gender imbalance issue in logistics.

“This awards ceremony is our chance to highlight those who have done exceptional work in this field and made a real difference. I am thrilled to be honouring both individuals who have worked to make an impact, as well as the company which has shown the most commitment.”

The shortlisted nominees are:

Leader of the Year – sponsored by Whitbread

Angela Howard (DHL Supply Chain)

Nicky McGroarty (Telefonica UK)

Maria Sopwith (Amethyst Group)

Rising Star of the Year – sponsored by BiS Henderson

Victoria Burrows (Royal Mail)

Bethany Fovargue (Data Interchange)

Kathleen McColm (Ceva)

Diversity Champion of the Year – sponsored by PepsiCo

Tracey Clifford (Wincanton)

Jane Dennison (Dennison Trailers)

Kat Horsley (Easy as HGV)

Company of the Year – sponsored by Forton Group

DHL Supply Chain

CEVA Logistics 

Places at the Awards Night and Charity Ball may be booked online at Tickets are just £85 (or £750 for 10) and all proceeds from the event will be donated to Transaid, the charity which tackles poverty and disadvantage by building transport skills and knowledge to the developing world.