Forwarding, Freight News, People

Young forwarder finalists revealed

[ July 15, 2019   //   ]

International insurer, TT Club and the International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations, FIATA, have announced the regional winners of the Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award (YIFFYA) 2019.

They are: Europe – Mrs Evgeniya Khokhlova (Russia); Africa/Middle East – Mr Enos Chapra (Zimbabwe); Americas – Ms Rachael van Harmelen (Canada); and Asia Pacific – Phillip Burgess (New Zealand).

They will be invited to present their dissertations to the Award Steering Committee at the FIATA World Congress in Cape Town on 1-5 October for final judging, after which the YIFFYA winner for 2019 will be announced.

FIATA president Babar Badat said: “I am encouraged again to see these excellent candidates presenting dissertations that cover a wide range of logistic subjects, which demonstrate the challenges that forwarders face every day and the customized solutions they are able to offer.”

Mike Yarwood, senior loss prevention executive of award sponsors TT Club and chairman of the award steering committee added: “In the current challenging global trade environment, where supply chains are under increasing pressure to adapt quickly to regulatory, political and economic pressures, we at TT Club believe the training and professional advancement of young freight operators must be paramount.”

“This award aims to contribute to the development of quality professionals and reward young talent.”