Freight News, People

FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Award winners

[ May 13, 2014   //   ]

The winners of the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards for 2014were announced at a ceremony at The Savoy Hotel in London today (13 May).

Woman of the Year
Jane Curl-Carter, site manager, DHL Tradeteam Ltd from Burton on Trent

Director of the Year
Anna Whitty, CEO, ECT Charity, from London

Driver of the Year

Rachel Garlick, HGV driver, DHL Homebase, from Wellingborough

Innovation and Sustainability
Karen Jacques, chief operating officer, Dryad Maritime, from Portsmouth

Rising Star
Anna Kozlowska, managing director, Myway Enterprises, from Lutterworth

Team Leader of the Year
Simone Fogg, general manager, Sainsbury’s Supermarkets, from London

Claire Morrissy, deputy distribution centre manager, Tesco, from Dagenham, London

Industry Champion
Sharon Davies, senior director, corporate affairs, DHL UK & Ireland, from London

The awards were launched seven years ago to raise awareness of the varied and rewarding careers available to women in the transport and logistics sector, with the aim of increasing the number of women considering the industry as a career choice.
FTA chief executive Theo de Pencier, a member of the judging panel, said: “These prestigious awards acknowledge the work of women in the industry, and showcase how others can make a career in transport a successful and fulfilling one. We are pleased to encourage forward thinking companies that are committed to introducing diversity to the freight industry, and working further with ‘everywoman’ offers FTA opportunities to expand that work.”
He added: “The key for our industry is to be able to access a wider talent pool to be able to meet its need for good quality staff in whichever role it needs to fill.”
Maxine Benson MBE, co-founder of everywoman, commented: “As the transport and logistics industry seeks to employ half a million more people, it has never been more urgent to ensure the sector attracts more talented women.”