Freight News, Road, Sea

Govt designates four more CITES ports

[ September 24, 2019   //   ]

The government has designated four further ports for movement of protected animals and plants in the event of a ‘no deal’ EU exit – Belfast Seaport, Dover, Eurotunnel and Holyhead. In the event of a no-deal Brexit, anyone wishing to move such specimins between the UK and the EU will need CITES documentation. Customs offices at the four ports will be designated and special CITES arrangements have been put in place to help minimise any delays. Belfast Seaport will also be designated to allow CITES movements between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland over the land border and by sea.