Young forwarder finalists announced

The four regional finalists in the TT Club- and FIATA-sponsored Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award have been announced, selected from among 17 entries by national associations. They are: Miss Tjaka Segooa, South Africa; Mrs Kendyl Baptiste, Canada; Miss Sarah Kate Skrypec, Australia; and Mr Louis Perrin, UK. The diverse subjects covered by the dissertations of this year's entrants included live plants, super cars, flexi-tanks, aid shipments, aircraft components, Antarctic ... [+]

Roadmap to the electronic bill of lading

International freight forwarders’ body FIATA has signed a memorandum of understanding with electronic documents firm essDOCS to provide a framework to digitise bills of lading. The Association will work on the digitisation of FIATA documents, starting with the electronic FIATA Bill of Lading (eFBL) and then the electronic House Bill of ... [+]

Canada’s Bradley Davis leads the field

The 2017 Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year (YIFFY) Award was presented to Bradley Davis of Canada at the FIATA annual World Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 10 October. It was presented by Mike Yarwood of the awards sponsor, TT Club. The other three regional finalists were: Tinasche Chiwanza (Zimbabwe ... [+]

Canada test-bed for new airfreight programme

The new IATA-FIATA Air Cargo Program (IFACP), which aims to modernised relations between airlines and forwarders, has been pilot-launched in Canada It will be rolled out globally following the Canadian pilot, replacing the existing Cargo Agency Program, and will be jointly managed by forwarders and airlines as equal partners in the ... [+]

TT Club to sponsor young forwarders

Insurers the TT Club is to continue its sponsorship of FIATA’s Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award (YIFFYA), now in its nineteenth year. The competition provides opportunities for all candidates, of which there were 17 this year, to demonstrate and develop their knowledge of the industry. The overall winner of the International ... [+]

New chief for FIATA

The FIATA international forwarders’ federation FIATA has appointed Hans Kersten as deputy director and he will take over as director general after the retirement of Marco Sorgetti in September. Kersten was previously International Union of Railways (UIC) freight director. [+]

FIATA and IATA sign new agents’ deal

Freight forwarder association Fiata and airline body IATA  officially signed the up to the reformed IATA Cargo Agency Program at the FIATA world congress in Dublin in early October. The new IATA-FIATA Cargo Agency Program (IFACP) aims to recognise forwarders’ evolution away from being selling agents to purchasing customers and aims ... [+]

Aussie scoops Young Forwarder award

Australia’s Shanon Gould won the Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year (YIFFY) Award, presented at the FIATA annual congress in Dublin this year. Other regional finalists were Lorraine Zhou, Zimbabwe (Africa/Middle East), Evgeny Kapustin, Canada (Americas) and Kostiantyn Hapii, Ukraine (Europe).   [+]

FIATA rolls out Dublin programme

FIATA has updated its programme for this year’s Congress in Dublin, Ireland on 3-8 October. Keynote speakers on the opening day of the conference on 5 October include AirBridgeCargo Airlines executive president, Denis Ilin, and secretary general of the International Road Transport Union, Umberto de Pretto, who will address Congress on ... [+]

Young forwarder finalists revealed

Four regional finalists from a record 27 entries have been announced in the FIATA Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year Award. They are: Lorraine Zhou, Zimbabwe, Africa/Middle East region; Evgeny Kapustin, Canada (Americas); Shanon Gould, Australia (Asia/Pacific); and Kostiantyn Hapii, Ukraine (Europe). Among the diverse subjects covered by the dissertations are ... [+]

More »

advert 3